From Cabin Fever to Cabin Cozy

     I had hoped for a fun hooky day out running around seeing and exploring today.  However, our icy, snow-packed gravel roads refused to cooperate and remain impassable for me in my little car.  So, I felt a little stuck, felt a little touch of cabin fever.  Then, I decided not to spend the day angry and frustrated about being stuck at home.  Instead, I began to think about the joy of being home, how cozy and warm it is here, and how glad I am that I don’t have to travel on treacherous roads.

     After all, before I know it, spring semester will begin, and a day spent at home will be a rare thing.  I will crave it.  I will probably even say to someone, “I just wish I could have one day when I didn’t have to go anywhere. ”  Well, today is that day, and after I made up my mind to enjoy it, I really have!

     It as been a hooky day too in the sense that I am not “making” myself do anything.  I slept an hour and a half later than usual–luxurious, took a bubble bath, and got bundled up to venture outside.  Scout the dog loves the snow, so he was my guide.  I didn’t go very far, but I did get to take a few pictures of the cattle near the pond, some giant icycles on the house, and Scout with his nose buried in the snow.  I thawed myself out with some coffee and did a little brainstorming for some new classes I am planning for the next couple of semesters.  Then, I read a bit of Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins.  It is the second book in The Hunger Games Trilogy.  I absolutely love young adult literature and it felt good to indulge myself and read something for pure enjoyment.  I am not obsessing about how fast/how slow the day is passing.  I am just enjoying the sweet moments. 

Scout loves the snow, but then again, Scout loves most things.

Leave a Reply

