2011 Word(s) of the Year: Trusting God

     I have been thinking a lot about my Word of the Year.  I am sticking to my guns and avoiding resolutions and putting my focus on a word or phrase instead.  By doing  this, I will focus my efforts and my mind on living my life to achieve that one phrase or word in all areas of my life.  The intention I am setting for 2011 is trusting God.  You don’t have to look very far to see that many, many, wonderful things come from trusting God.  Check out Psalm 37 verse 3 and 4:

Trust in the Lord and do good;

dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.

Delight yourself in the Lord

and he will give you the desires of your heart.

So, countless benefits come from trusting God.  That, however is not my main goal in setting this intention.  What I struggle with most, I believe, is worry.  Worry and stress, and a type of worry called “reasoning” that involves me trying to figure things out.  Nothing robs me of my joy and my peace and creativity and clarity like worry.  Yet, I find it much easier to move away from a negative action like worrying if I have something positive to move toward–trusting God.  I don’t think it’s possible to trust God and worry at the same time.  It’s pretty freeing, trusting God.  I think I am going to have lots of new space in my mind (formerly filled by worry) to be creative, to be clear, to be at joy and to be at peace.  Yay! 

     I know I am early in posting this.  I want to get my intention firmly in my mind and start practicing trusting God.  I think that 2011 is going to be an exciting year.  Who knows how far-reaching the power of trusting God will be?

Leave a Reply

