I Love What I Love: YA Novels

     Toward the end of the summer, I read Gretchen Rubin’s book The Happiness Project.  I loved this book, and Rubin shares a lot of powerful revelations that rang true with me, and have stayed in my mind.  One of the truths that she shares is that what makes other people happy may not make you happy and vice versa.  Sometimes, we may feel pressured by what’s popular and what’s in vogue, so that we believe we should like certain things, and shouldn’t like other things.  When we have the courage to like what we like, we feel the joy of being ourselves on purpose.  I am absolutely mad about young adult literature.  This may be uncool or not intellectual enough for some people, but it is wonderful for me. 

     I don’t read young adult lit constantly, but I do read it regularly, and when I stumble on a book or a new author that I like, I feel as if I have discovered treasure!  I just recently finished The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and I am into the second book in the trilogy, Catching Fire.  Besides enjoying these books, I am intrigued by the whole genre of the young adult dystopian novel, and wondering about it.  Why are there so many dystopian novels for young adults?  What types of questions and thoughts do these books provoke in young people?  I began to skim the web and found several long lists of top dystopian novels for young adults.  There are a lot of classics as well as the newer books.  I want to study this and make it into a class.  It is wonderful to discover a new theme and think about where I could go with it.  An idea to ponder and wonder about and chase and explore—makes life much richer.  And of course, it may go without saying, but isn’t it sassy, spunky and spirited to embrace what you really love and run with it?

Leave a Reply

