Women’s Autobiographies & Sarah Palin’s Going Rogue

     This isn’t a goal for 2011–it’s really just something I feel God put on my heart.  I am being led to read (or listen to–I like audible books) the autobiographies of famous and/or important and/or influential women.  I love books and read voraciously, but I have never been much into memoirs or autobiographies.  This is small change that feels big.  I am going into this with an open mind.  I believe that God wants me to do this because each one of these women has something to share that I can learn from.

     I am starting with Sarah Palin’s Going Rogue.  Sarah Palin is obviously a figure of great contraversy.  People either seem to love her or to hate her.  I am curious about her.  As a Christian, I know I agree with many of her viewpoints, and as a woman, I shy away from any individual or group that wants to represent the entire gender.  That is how I am coming into the book.  The audible version I am listening to is also read by Palin; that was a nice surprise.  So, I am listening to Palin’s book.  I am not looking for points of contention or points of agreement so much as what does God want me to learn from her?

Leave a Reply

