Everyday Things

     Today has been fairly uneventful.  We are starting to get some more winter weather in Missouri, but the roads weren’t too bad this morning.  I went to campus to finish my first day of spring semester preparations.  That did not take long.  I also put the finishing touches on a proposal to teach a special topics course the first part of the summer.  It’s the class that was born out of my wondering, musing, and curiosity about dystopias in young adult literature.  Here’s the proposed reading list: A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle, I am the Cheese by Robert Cormier, The Giver by Lois Lowry, The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer, Uglies by Scott Westerfield, and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  I am very excited that I followed the trail of my interest to this end.  I hope the class “makes” and I will get a chance to discuss all of these books with students.

     I left campus fairly early.  It was already snowing steadily, and conditions are expected to worsen throughout the day.  I stopped to run an errand at the bank, and made it home by noon.  For the first part of the afternoon, I read the Bible, and wrote out my prayers for the day.  I worked on this week’s Power Thought (God Loves Me Unconditionally!) and meditated on the scripture that goes with it.  As you can probably see from the pictures of the signs that I posted earlier, I am getting quite a collection.  I am betting that these signs throughout the house are having a positive effect on my husband as well.  I also have signs at my office at the college, and wonder if the guy that cleans my office has noticed them.  I hope so.

     Scout the dog is loving the snow.  We went outside to get the mail, and although this is shameful to admit, we have two pumpkins left over from fall that we never did anything with.  For some reason, Scout has decided that they are his new toys.  He has been playing with pumpkin pieces and running around in the snow tossing them up in the air.  Hilarious!  He thinks these pumpkins are wonderful!

     There isn’t much on the agenda for the rest of the afternoon.  I hope to straighten up the house and do a little cleaning before it’s time to fix dinner.  It is a good afternoon to be home and indoors.  I am thankful that I could come home early today.  Tomorrow is an iffy first day of school.  If we get the 6”-7” of snow that is predicted, I doubt my own attendance as well as that of many other faculty, staff, and students.  Either way, my heart is prepared and I am ready for the new semester.

 

Leave a Reply

