Being a Blessing on Purpose

“Be mindful to be a blessing…(Galatians 6:10).

     What does it mean to be a blessing “on purpose”?  I thought this was a little strange at first.  I thought that once I decided that I wanted to be a blessing, that kindness would just sort of flow out of me like big beams of sunshine.  It doesn’t happen that way.  I will explain by giving you a few examples.

     My drive from my house to my parents’ is almost two hours.  About mid-way through the journey, I pass a very wonderful bakery.  Many times as I have driven the route, I have thought I should stop and get something for my step dad.  He loves sweets.  And yet, I never stopped.  I was always in a hurry, and the thought never developed into an action.  Then, after reading about the power thought I love people and I enjoy helping them, on my next visit home, I was mindful, and I stopped.  I set my intention to bless, and I stopped.  I bought my step dad a big piece of pie, and decided to get my grandma (who has been ill), a half-dozen fresh, baked cookies.  I enjoyed their delight in the unexpected gifts, but you see, I had to do it on purpose.  That drive could have been like so many others, when I just kept driving.

Later that day, I was shopping with my mother, and still trying to think of ways to bless people.  She was going to buy something in a certain store, when I remembered that I had a gift card for that store.  I didn’t have a lot of money left on it, but I gave it to her to use toward her purchase.  If I had not been consciously brainstorming about how I could help her, I probably would have forgotten the gift card.

Here is one more example.  Sometimes, I save up magazines to pass on to people who enjoy them, but I am very lazy and haphazard about getting the magazines to the people I think might like them.  Yesterday, I made a note on my “to do” list to have my husband deliver a pile of magazines to my mother-in-law.  He had to get out, and the weather was too bad for her to go to work, so I made a point to get the magazines to her on a day when she would most likely be stuck inside and enjoy having some reading material.  I included a thank you note to her for all of the things that she does for us.  If I had not been thinking about how I could bless someone, those magazines probably would have stayed where they were indefinitely. 

What’s the lesson I’ve learned? 

  • Being a blessing isn’t hard & it doesn’t have to cost money.
  • It requires conscious thought and setting an intent to bless.
  • Blessing might be a challenge during a blizzard when you don’t have a lot of contact with people, but there is something you can do.  God will show you and give you all kinds of creative ideas, if you just ask.
Leave a Reply

