I Pursue Peace with God, Myself, and Others

I am continuing on to do the mind renewing work in Joyce Meyer’s book Power Thoughts.  Power Thought 9 is:  “I pursue peace with God, myself, and others.” Meyers indicates that the most important part of this power thought is the fact that peace must be pursued.  It doesn’t just fall in our laps.  We have to go after it.

I also think it’s important to notice the order in this thought.  Before we can have peace with ourselves, we have to have peace with God, and before we can have peace with others, we have to make peace with yourselves.

Being at peace with God means being honest with him about our sins and weaknesses, making confession and asking God for his help.  When we are able to accept God’s love and forgiveness, we are able to begin to really love and accept ourselves.  Often the way we treat ourselves is refleccted in how we treat others.  This isn’t always true though.

I am aware that I don’t always have very high expectations of others, but I do hold myself to high expectations–sometimes very unrealistic expectations.  One of the things that wastes my energy the most, is my tendency to go for days being angry with myself for my perceived failures.  God accepts my weaknesses and loves me anyway, but it is hard for me to do the same.  I realize from studying this chapter, that peace with myself isn’t going to just happen. 
     I must make an effort to change by pursuing, or going after peace with myself.  It helps me to compare the way I treat myself or think about myself with the way I treat and think about others.  This helps me recognize right behavior.  I am learning (slowly) to relax my expectations and to trust God to help me in my failures and shortcomings.  As I relax about myself, it is easier to live at peace with others as well.

    My goal this week is to come up with some specific actions to take so that I can stay on track with Power Thought #9:  I pursue peace with God, myself, and others.

Leave a Reply

